I LOVE chairs and stools…all shapes and sizes….it’s sort of an obsession.

For over 30 years we’ve had mixed matched chairs around our kitchen table. I”m fortunate in that I have quite a large table and can easily fit 8 chairs. 

I don’t like to be limited to  a particular color and style or maybe it’s just that I’m indecisive….not sure.

As a result  myself and  my family and friends have often brought home rescues on trash day from the roadside…PEOPLE THROW AWAY GOOD STUFF!!!

I’m simply amazed at the variety of designs there are out there…and take great pains in choosing which ones will have a place around the table.

Awaiting makeovers presently in a heap…legs and backs intertwined in a tangled mess in my greenhouse.

What is it about chairs?…I don’t know…maybe it’s the fact that I do most of my projects at my table. As a family we spend most of our time in the kitchen…eating…laughing…playing games.

 When friends and family visit it’s the place of choice. I love when a guest pulls out a seat and discovers  fun fabric that was unseen tucked under the table.

Often times I believe people select a particular chair…not always randomly…they may be saying to themselves…I am going to sit in that lovely blue chair…or no…maybe the mustard one.

Earth Gatherings in Millville

 

Because of my love for chairs in 2006 when I opened my little shop in Millville I decided to offer some for sale. We call them Hares chairs…which is our last name.  

Riverfest in Millville

 

 

 

First my husband checks to see if they are wibbley…if so…they have to be taken apart….reglued…sanded…and then primed and painted.

BEFORE

 

AFTER

Vintage bark cloth is my favorite fabric and so I use it on most of my chairs

BEFORE

AFTER

                     

Once again this summer Earth Gatherings will be offering chairs at the Millville shop.

Prices range from $25 to $45 depending on the work that goes into it and the price of the fabric. 

They will be in my Etsy store….but I’m sorry to say they are so costly to ship…so  are available for pick up only.

http://www.etsy.com/listing/66888256/deep-gray-upcycled-chairlocal-pickup

for shop hours and more info. 

Barbara Hares at 856-3322815

http://www.etsy.com/shop/Earthgatherings

earthgatherings@comcast.net

