When I found Wendel he was in pretty bad shape. Peeling paint….loose legs and mustache…no feet. His hair was filthy.

Wendel

                                          

His hair and beard had to be removed and soaked in oxi clean.

Also had to remove his hat

Because his legs were so loose and his feet were missing…I decided it would be better to pull him apart and start from scratch.

He needed to be sanded and repainted anyway…so it would be easier if he was disassembled.

Poor Wendel

UPCYCLING

A New Coat

new shoes

 

I drilled a hole in his hat and inserted wired buttons bursting with whimsey….added poofy red yarn…brass dangles and  an old jewelry finding hanging on the side.

8 gold plated buttons adorn his double breasted coat. I painted the center of them red.

 He has a felted wool belt with old jewelry findings and a snowflake at his waist.

Dangling from his fist he carries  a pine cone…snowflake…zebra…brass and sequined jewelry findings and bells.

The story of  the finding of Wendel and my other Nutcrackers is in my post entitled 158 Crackers Found.

Wendel measures 16 1/2 inches high including the wired buttons and  is for sale both in my Etsy store www.earthgatherings.etsy.com  and at my shop in downtown Millville.

He retails for $72.00

